top of page
  • GIHR

The 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals

Officially organized and established in 2015 by the United Nations General Assembly, the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) consist of 17 interlinked global goals designed to be a "blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all".

The 17 SDGs are:

(1) No Poverty, (2) Zero Hunger, (3) Good Health and Well-being, (4) Quality Education, (5) Gender Equality, (6) Clean Water and Sanitation, (7) Affordable and Clean Energy, (8) Decent Work and Economic Growth, (9) Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure, (10) Reducing Inequality, (11) Sustainable Cities and Communities, (12) Responsible Consumption and Production, (13) Climate Action, (14) Life Below Water, (15) Life On Land, (16) Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions, (17) Partnerships for the Goals.

Two years later, on the 6th of July 2017, the UN adopted a resolution with the intention of ensuring that the SDGs were made more "actionable" by identifying specific targets for each goal.

Why are the 17 sustainable development goals important? It is a vision and a call for action to promote a prosperous existence and ensure the emergence of inclusive economies and resilient societies. Moreover, these goals were set with the intention of creating a better world by 2030, by tackling issues such as poverty reduction, inequality and climate change.

The fundamental principle of the SDGs is "leaving no one behind," and the spirit of the Goals compels nations to try to reach the furthers behind first - Dominic Macsorley (CEO of Concern Worldwide).

bottom of page